swedishyogi


Slim vs coffee: 2 – 0
March 2, 2013, 5:24 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , ,

Yes, Slim (I) defeated coffee both January and February this year, another ten rounds to go.

My body loves coffee. I love the taste of a quality cup and the arousing feeling it brings. On days when I’m feeling low, I know that a hit of coffee can really lift me up.

Then why not coffee?

Well, I am most certain that a cup or two ain’t gonna kill you. That’s how I lived most of my adult life and I’ve felt perfectly fine. But I have also tried to avoid coffee and thereby I have the experience of life with coffee and life without coffee.

Psychological: Testing periods with coffee and without, I’ve noticed that a cup of coffee can really lift my spirits up. Albeit temporarily – what comes up must come down… On the one hand, it’s great to have coffee to resort to, but on the other hand, do I really want my feeling of wellbeing being dependent on coffee? Nope, I certainly don’t. This is really an important factor: I’m much more inclined to feel what I am really feeling, without these arousing chemicals.

Physical: No, a cup or two aint gonna kill you, but if you’ve gone three weeks without and then hit yourself with a proper cup of coffee you’ll feel how much it affects your body. You’ll probably have to run to the loo quite instantly and you’ll easily feel how your heartrate quickly increases. So what? Well, I just prefer for my bodily rythms to be more level than that. I can arouse myself if I need to notch up my energy levels.

Getting to the subtleties: I’ve noticed that the effect of coffee can temporarily increase my ability to focus on a particular task and speed up the pace at which I’m working on it. But at the same time, it has the effect of diminishing attention and sensitivity to other matters. For instance, the probability of me spilling my cup or hitting my toe against a table leg is higher after coffee than without. I fidget more with coffee circulating, scratching my hair is the main one that I’m aware of. I’m less able to stay really present with my friend, colleague or lover.

With coffee in my system comes craving for food, sugar etc and the ability to balance such intake decreases.

Of course, my general ability to stay calm and relaxed decreases. Stress increases. My overall ability to focus is better without coffee.

And to further subtleties: In my practice, I avoid ejaculating for a number of reasons (read Deida, Mantak Chia, Alex Vartman or any tantric literature if you’re interested in why). In this practice, I’ve notice that my ability to avoid the point of no return is significantly better if I avoid coffee.

In general, a non-coffee lifestyle brings me a lot more stability in both body and mind. I enjoy this stability, it’s much more worth the the temporary high that coffee brings. My intention is to live more fully, through ups and downs, and to live through the hardships in life. With this intention, coffee is simply not serving me.

Meanwhile, it is a battle for me. I enjoy coffee so much.. Especially in the boredom of my everyday work, coffee is such a treat to make it through the day. A healthy snack, a fruit, and a quality cup of (herbal) tea are my main substitutes, as is a swig of eucalyptus oil. Oxygen is the best substitute, but unfortunately I find it difficult to take even a short walk during my work days. Writing this piece strengthens my determination to avoid coffee altogether. And I’ll continue to break down my overall goal in short term segments: the challenge now – March without coffee.


2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Hello! This is my first comment here so I just wanted to give a quick shout
out and tell you I truly enjoy reading your blog posts.
Can you recommend any other blogs/websites/forums that cover the same topics?
Appreciate it!

Comment by Ruby

Wow, THANK YOU Ruby! Glad to hear you enjoy it. Sorry, don’t have any recommendations off the top of my head but I’ll publish links if I find something. Blessings

Comment by wangaa




Leave a Reply

