swedishyogi


1.33 Tranquil mind
February 8, 2012, 6:33 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags:

“A clear and tranquil mind results from cultivating friendliness towards those who are happy, compassion towards those who suffer, joy towards the virtuous, and impartiality towards wrongdoers.”

– Patanjali’s Yoga Sutras

When I read this the first time I read that “a clear and tranquil mind results in cultivating…” I think it works both ways, that is my experience.

I am so grateful for experiencing both a tranquil mind and a turbulent mind. With a turbulent mind, it is difficult to cultivate compassion, sympathetic joy and to be present and alert. With a tranquil mind these qualities come naturally. Recently I have had the experience of worldly matters occupying my mind, scuffing away the tranquility that I had cultivated. I am also grateful for this experience, getting a deeper understanding of the value of simplicity in life and seeing the effect of the material world on my spiritual nature.


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

